Romancing Your Wife

Posted: April 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

I am currently reading “Sex, Romance, and the Glory of God” by C.J Mahaney.  I have been significantly impacted by the book thus far.  As he says, however, if you simply read the book and do not put it into practice you waste the information. 

With that said, I can look at the material within the book and honestly say that this stuff is not original.  C.J admits this, going so far as to say he probably hasn’t had single original thought in his life.  I can resonate with that statement.  In my preaching, teaching, shepherding, and counsel I am always standing on the shoulders of other men. 

But, that does not mean that it is not helpful.  Mahaney writes in a clear and concise way.  The way he presents the material is extremely beneficial.  Although hearing many of the same things (or reading them) from others, Mahaney has reminded me of some very important concepts and truths.

So, what will I do?  Tonight I will take my wife on a date.  I pray God gives me the discipline to make that a weekly habit.  I pray that I seek to touch her mind and heart before I touch her body.  I ask God to give me a more compassionate and merciful spirit when with her (and in general).  My it be my life-long ambition to study her, serve her, and lead her.   

Father, by your grace, allow me to love Gina in such a way that I put on display the love Christ had and has for His Bride, the church.

Leave a Reply

