SBC Name Change?–Albert Mohler and Bart Barber Offer Insights

Posted: September 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

Before going to bed last night, Twitter went crazy over the  current SBC President, Bryant Wright, proposing that we study the value in changing the name of the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC).  As expected, this is an emotional issue and will bring about a number of different responses.  Reading Dr. Mohler and Dr. Barber, in my opinion, helps you think calmly and deeply about the issue.

Here is Dr. Mohler’s take.

Here is Dr. Barber’s take.

My two cents:  The labels we use must communicate honestly, clearly, & rightly. When the label ceases to do this…toss it for something that does.

That is overly simplistic, I am sure.  But, I think, simple is sometimes very helpful.

Comments
  1. Bill says:

    I like your two cents. I’m a little bit of a nutjob about calling things what they and are specifically NOT calling things what they’re NOT (i.e. a sanctuary). I remember being confused when I first attended an SBC church, thinking that there was something particularly regionally or culturally “southern” about them. When I found out there were SBC churches throughout the country and the whole world, the name baffled me.

    But, obviously, I don’t come from an SBC background, so I don’t really have any kind of “brand loyalty” to deal with. Which is to say that just because a name change isn’t a big deal to me, that that’s the way it is for others.

Leave a Reply

