Are Your A Baptist/Lutheran/Methodist/ETC.? Why? Know What and Why You Believe

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Do you own your beliefs?  By that I mean, do you have biblical convictions that you hold due to your own study of the Bible?  It is my fear that few have thoroughly searched the Scriptures and come to their own theological convictions.  Instead, we are usually (again, my opinion) Baptist, Lutheran, Methodist, or Presbyterian because that happens to be what our parents were, or because it happens to be the theological tradition we stumbled into.  Dr. Draper has said, “Most people believe some things for no good reason.”   

That may or may not be the case with you; or it may be you and you don’t even realize it.  One way to determine whether or not you own your own faith is to ask some questions and see how you answer:

1.  Do I believe the Bible is inerrant, infallible, and sufficient?  Why?  Can I defend this biblically?

2.  Do I believe that God created everything that I see?  Where does the Bible teach this?

3.  If I believe that all have sinned and stand guilty before God, where would I point to in the Bible to prove this?

4.  Is Jesus the only way to heaven?  Where does the Bible teach this?

5.  I believe that we should baptize by immersion.  Really?  Where does the Bible teach this?

6.  I believe we should baptize only believers.  Why do you believe this?

7.  I call myself a Baptist.  Why?  What does being a Baptist mean? 

8.  I believe that the congregation should vote on issues?  Where do we get that from the Bible?

9.  Do you believe in the rapture of the church before the tribulation?  Where does the Bible teach this?  Have Christians always believed this to be the case?  Are there other biblically defensible options?

10.  I believe that hell is real.  Where does the Bible teach this? 

Now those are just random questions that have come to mind.  The point is, do you own your own faith?  Are you someone who has searched the scriptures and built convictions on what you have seen in the Word?  Or have you accepted what others have told you as true and failed to study issues for yourself?  When Paul is in Berea (Acts 17), he preaches the gospel.  The Bereans, careful students as they were, searched the scriptures to see if what Paul said was true.  Be like them! 

I am part of the Baptist tradition.  I have found that many are historically and theologically unable to defend Baptist distinctives.  That is why I am thankful for men like Dr. Nathan Finn.  He has done some great things to help us think through what it means to be a Baptist.  I pray you read his stuff.  But more importantly, I pray you read your Bible and come to your own theological convictions.

Here are some links to Dr. Finn and his series on Baptist Distinctiveness.

Leave a Reply

