Reading the NT with Tom Schreiner

Posted: September 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

SchreinerCurrently our cohort is reading through the entire NT. As we make our way through each NT book we are to write a summary of no more than 300 words. As I work my way through the books I have found it helpful to read Dr. Tom Schreiner’s book, A New Testament Theology: Magnifying God in Christalongside the other required readings. I am not, however, reading every page of Schreiner. Although that is something I hope to accomplish, I don’t have the time or energy. Instead, my approach is to read the Bible, note any prominent themes within the book that stand out, and then see if Schreiner addresses the theme/topic in his work. I then read that section of his NT theology.

So far this has proved helpful. While reading through Matthew, reading his section on the “kingdom of heaven” was enlightening. Since Matthew uses the term over thirty times, and it occurs nowhere else pre-Matthew (at least that I am aware of), I was eager to see how Schreiner unpacked the phrase. At the moment we are reading through Mark. The sections on “Son of God” and “Son of Man”, phrases that occur a number of times in Mark, are earmarked and ready for me to read tomorrow.

I have found this to be a helpful way to read through the NT. If you are inclined, I’d recommend picking up Schreiner and walking through the NT with him. It’s worth the time and the effort. Furthermore, I am thankful that Andy Naselli is having us write these short summaries of each NT book. If you have never tried to do that, it would be another undertaking worth the time and effort.

NOTE: If you want to read the whole Bible with Schreiner, check out his whole Bible theology, The King in His Beauty: A Biblical Theology of the Old and New Testaments.

Leave a Reply

