Grace

Posted: April 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

While preaching on Sunday morning I was struck by the concept of grace. God’s grace abounds in our lives. Do we stop and ponder his grace on a regular basis? We should.

What stuck in my mind the rest of Sunday afternoon was the overwhelming number of ways that God has been gracious. I thought I’d take a few minutes and expand on God’s grace towards sinners like me:

1. If you are reading this, you have life and breath.

2. If you are an unbeliever and you’re reading this, you still have time to turn from sin and trust in Christ (John 3:16).

3. If you are a believer, you have been justified by your faith (Rom. 5:1).

4. We have the Bible (2 Tim. 3:16).

5. God did not leave us alone. We have his Spirit within us and the church around us (1 Cor. 3:16; Heb. 10:25).

6. We can read encouraging devotional thoughts on a computer.

7. We can think, write, and sing.

8. My kids are (or were at the time I wrote this) sleeping soundly (that is grace for a whole bunch of reasons).

9. My wife is godly and kind and loving and forgiving…the list goes on.

10. My good health is undeserved (Eccl. 5:19).

11. I have friends that love Jesus, the gospel, the Bible, and the world.

12. I have spiritual gifts that are for the upbuilding of the church (Rom. 1:11–12; 1 Cor. 12:7).

13. I am surrounded by Christian literature (both on the bookshelves in my home and on my electronic devices).

14. We have access to sermons from men like John MacArthur, John Piper, Alistair Begg, and so many others.

15. As I type, the rains are falling and watering the ground (Job 5:10).

16. Night is a gift. Because of my finitude, I need rest (A Theology of Sleep).

17. My seminary brothers have invested time, energy, and finances in our family to help us survive in Minneapolis.

18. My church is filled with godly examples of Christian faithfulness.

19. My elders are God-centered, Christ-exalting, Bible-saturated Christian hedonists.

20. I went to the store on Sunday afternoon and filled our cupboards with food.

These 20 points simply scratch the surface of God’s unmerited favor towards me.

Have you stopped lately and given serious thought to the abundant grace in your life that comes from God? It’s worth the effort to recount his grace that is present in your life.

Leave a Reply

